test@email.com

Communauté de pratique de l'énergie

(2015-2016)

Aperçu du projet

Pour de nombreuses municipalités, il existe un fossé entre les politiques et programmes de planification provinciaux plus larges et les efforts de planification énergétique locaux, ce qui ajoute une couche de complexité et d'incertitude aux activités de planification énergétique communautaires.

L'initiative de la Communauté de pratique en énergie de l'Ontario (ECOP), qui s'est déroulée de 2015 à 2016, visait à éduquer et à renforcer les capacités des municipalités, des services publics et des autres intervenants locaux de l'Ontario afin d'élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des plans énergétiques communautaires. Le but était d'aider à mieux harmoniser les activités de planification énergétique locales, régionales et provinciales.

ECOP était dirigé par QUEST et le Clean Air Partnership avec le soutien de l’opérateur indépendant du système électrique de l’Ontario.

Objectifs du projet

Les objectifs de l'initiative ECOP étaient les suivants:

  • Comprendre les avantages des plans énergétiques communautaires (PEC) pour accélérer l'efficacité énergétique et développer les opportunités de développement économique
  • Fournir aux municipalités la formation, les ressources et les compétences nécessaires pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des CEP
  • Favoriser de meilleurs partenariats et collaborations avec les principales parties prenantes (en particulier les services publics) et mieux permettre à ces communautés d'identifier les projets énergétiques locaux prioritaires
  • Aider les municipalités à comprendre le lien qui existe entre la planification énergétique communautaire et le programme régional de planification de l'électricité de la SIERE

Modules et ressources de formation ECOP

Les ressources ECOP comprennent quatre modules de formation et un ensemble de présentations vidéo pour soutenir les activités de planification énergétique communautaires en Ontario. Ces ressources ont été testées et affinées avec les commentaires des intervenants de la zone de planification régionale de la région du Grand Nord.

Modules de formation ECOP

Les modules de formation ECOP suivants sont fournis au format PowerPoint, vous permettant d’utiliser et de modifier le contenu en fonction de vos besoins spécifiques. Le contenu des modules est destiné aux deux groupes de parties prenantes cibles du projet - municipalités et services publics - toutefois ils peuvent être utiles à divers acteurs de la communauté intéressés à soutenir et à participer à la planification énergétique communautaire.

Module 1: Avantages et applications de la planification énergétique communautaire

Le module 1 fournit des informations sur les raisons pour lesquelles une municipalité s’engage dans la planification énergétique communautaire, sur les avantages pouvant découler de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre d’un plan énergétique communautaire (PEC) et sur la manière dont les PEC peuvent soutenir d’autres priorités municipales.

Module 2: Planification énergétique communautaire dans le cadre élargi de planification énergétique provinciale

Le module 2 porte sur la relation entre le processus de planification régionale de la SIERE et la planification énergétique communautaire. Ce module aborde le processus de planification régionale et examine le paysage de la planification de l'électricité, y compris les principaux acteurs et les considérations politiques.

Module 3: Mise en œuvre du plan énergétique communautaire

Le module 3 comprend des informations tirées de la Planification énergétique communautaire: Mise en oeuvre au Canada initiative dirigée par la Community Energy Association, QUEST et le Smart Prosperity Institute. Il examine les principaux facteurs de succès et les défis de la mise en œuvre du PEC et inclut des informations sur la manière dont les outils de planification municipaux peuvent être exploités pour soutenir la mise en œuvre du PEC.

Module 4: L'énergie communautaire en action

Le module 4 présente les principales caractéristiques de certains des projets énergétiques communautaires les plus réussis au Canada. Ce module est destiné à guider votre communauté vers une conversation sur l’énergie axée sur la mise en œuvre.

Symposium ECOP

En septembre 2015, l'initiative ECOP a organisé un symposium à Markham, en Ontario. L'objectif du symposium était de présenter et d'obtenir des commentaires sur les modules de formation ECOP. . Ce rapport contient une vue d'ensemble des actes du symposium, y compris un résumé du projet, des notes de présentations d'invités et un résumé des discussions en table ronde animées.
Mise à jour sur les IRRP actifs
Présentation
Identification des parties prenantes externes et présentation de l'engagement
Présentation sur l'identification, la sélection et la responsabilisation des actions du PEC
Mise en œuvre d'un PEC: plusieurs mains font du travail léger Présentation

Partenaires du projet

Other Resources

QUEST mène et prépare une recherche appliquée de pointe pour habiliter les praticiens et les décideurs avec les outils dont ils ont besoin pour faire progresser les communautés énergétiques intelligentes. En savoir plus sur nos projets:

Climate Resilience Program

Climate Resilience Program

Do you need help to create your climate adaptation plan and increase your resilience against the impacts of climate change and extreme weather? Apply for the Climate Adaptation Program!

Diverse Pathways to Net-Zero

Diverse Pathways to Net-Zero

All Net-Zero Pathways Begin With a Local Step October 2021 The Diverse Pathways to Net-Zero initiative examines the critical role that Canadian communities play on the pathway to net-zero.Project Overview During the first phase of this initiative, we published the...

National Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) Handbook

National Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) Handbook

May 2020 Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) presents a unique opportunity not only to tackle GHG emissions and improve local air quality, but also to advance a circular economy for municipalities. When implemented on a municipal scale, biomethane can also be injected into...

[email protected]

Energy Community of Practice

(2015-2016)

Project Overview

For many municipalities, there is a disconnect between broader provincial planning policies and programs and local energy planning efforts, adding a layer of complexity and uncertainty to community energy planning activities.

The Ontario Energy Community of Practice (ECOP) initiative ran from 2015-2016 and focused on providing education and capacity building for Ontario municipalities, utilities, and other local stakeholders to develop and implement community energy plans. The intent was to help better align local, regional, and provincial energy planning activities.

ECOP was led by QUEST and the Clean Air Partnership with support from Ontario’s Independent Electricity System Operator.

Project Objectives

The objectives of the ECOP initiative were to:

  • Build an understanding of the benefits of community energy plans (CEPs) to accelerate energy efficiency and advance economic development opportunities
  • Provide municipalities with training, resources, and skills to develop and implement CEPs
  • Foster improved partnerships and collaborations with key stakeholders (especially utilities) and better enable these communities to identify priority local energy projects
  • Help municipalities understand the link between community energy planning and the IESO’s regional electricity planning program

ECOP Training Modules and Resources

ECOP resources include four Training Modules and a set of video presentations to support community energy planning activities in Ontario. These resources were tested and refined with feedback from stakeholders in the GTA North regional planning area.

ECOP Training Modules

The following ECOP Training Modules are provided in PowerPoint format, giving you the flexibility to use and modify the content according to your specific needs. The content of the modules is catered to the project’s two target stakeholder groups – municipalities and utilities – however they may be useful to a variety of community stakeholders interested in supporting and engaging in community energy planning.

Module 1: Community Energy Planning Benefits and Applications

Module 1 provides information on the rationale for why a municipality would engage in community energy planning, the benefits that can result from developing and implementing a Community Energy Plan (CEP) and how CEPs can support other municipal priorities.

Module 2: Community Energy Planning within the Broader Provincial Energy Planning Framework

Module 2 focuses on the relationship between the IESO’s regional planning process and community energy planning. This module delves into the regional planning process and examines the electricity planning landscape including key actors and policy considerations.

Module 3: Community Energy Plan Implementation

Module 3 includes insights from the Community Energy Planning: Getting to Implementation in Canada initiative being led by the Community Energy Association, QUEST and the Smart Prosperity Institute. It examines key success factors and challenges for CEP implementation and includes information about how municipal planning tools can be leveraged to support CEP implementation.

Module 4: Community Energy in Action

Module 4 showcases key features of some of the most successful community energy projects in action across Canada. The module is intended to guide your community toward an implementation-focused conversation on energy.

ECOP Symposium

In September 2015, the ECOP initiative hosted a Symposium in Markham, Ontario. The objective of the Symposium was to present and obtain feedback on the ECOP Training Modules. . This report contains an overview of the Symposium proceedings, including a project summary, notes from guest presentations and a summary of the facilitated roundtable discussions.
Update on Active IRRPs
Presentation
External Stakeholder Identification and Engagement Presentation
CEP Actions Identification, Selection & Accountability Presentation
Implementing a CEP: Many Hands Make Light Work Presentation

Project Partners

Other Resources

QUEST conducts and packages cutting edge applied research to empower practitioners and decision makers with the tools they need to advance Smart Energy Communities. Find out more about our projects:

Diverse Pathways to Net-Zero

Diverse Pathways to Net-Zero

All Net-Zero Pathways Begin With a Local Step October 2021 The Diverse Pathways to Net-Zero initiative examines the critical role that Canadian communities play on the pathway to net-zero.Project Overview During the first phase of this initiative, we published the...

National Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) Handbook

National Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) Handbook

May 2020 Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) presents a unique opportunity not only to tackle GHG emissions and improve local air quality, but also to advance a circular economy for municipalities. When implemented on a municipal scale, biomethane can also be injected into...

New Brunswick Smart Energy Communities Accelerator Pilot Program

New Brunswick Smart Energy Communities Accelerator Pilot Program

April 21, 2021 We're pleased to announce the launch of the New Brunswick Smart Energy Communities Accelerator Program (NB SECA Program), designed to accelerate economic development and GHG emission reduction efforts in 10 communities, including one First Nation in New...